To my fellow writers 2

May 31, 2009 at 9:05 am (Just a thought ...) ()

Last week I have attended intensive writing work shops as part of the Summer Writing Institution organized by Bloomsbury Qatar Foundation Publishing. I chose the non-fiction group and I am so glad to have been part of such wonderful group. First of all, I want to thank Mohana and Carol Henderson for organizing such event. I also want to thank everyone in my group and the other group too. I really had a great time. It was the most creative week of my life. I have learnt so much from Carol and my colleague whom I know consider friends. Everything was so harmonious and wonderful; the writing, the time and the people. It was really electrifying to hear people’s writing; to share their thoughts; to see how a single prompt could trigger a variety of emotions and memories. I know that I will attend more writing workshops in the future, but non will be like the one I have attended last week; because the people in it were so special. Each one of them had something great to offer; each one of them was kind and modest; each one of them wanted to feel the other through their writing.

 

I would like to share with you few things that I have learnt that could improve your writing.

 

1-      write every day, even if you didn’t have anything to write about and even if you didn’t have time. At least for 15 minutes; just write!

 

2-      Make a cluster of ideas, chose a topic and write anything that could be related to it and you will come up with a list of things to write about.

 

3-      Read a lot, and when you read, read like a writer. Try to identify different writing skills like, scene description and dialogue. How the writer captures emotions and little details.

 

 

4-      Try to go over your writing and change simple words that has general meaning to have more descriptive and deeper meaning.

 

5-      Take something plain, an object for example, and see what you can write about it. You will surprise yourself.

 

 

6-      When writing a scene you should include several elements to be able to present a clear picture for the reader (dialogue, senses, description, place, drama, character, memory, inner monologue)

 

7-      Listen to what others have to say, people’s experience matter and there is always a deeper meaning in what they say.

 

8-      And one thing I have enjoyed is prompts, choose a word, a memory a color and write a paragraph about it.

 

9-      Finally, take anything as inspiration to write, a poem, a word, a smile ..etc. The most important lesson is that you don’t stop writing.

 

I have much more information, but I don’t want to give away Carol’s secrets. For more information, please visit her website

 

http://www.carolhenderson.com/

Leave a Reply

