Final goodbye to my loyal readers

February 16, 2011 at 6:29 pm (Uncategorized)

I would like to start by thanking all my loyal readers and those who supported me since I started this blog. It has been more than three years; and so much has happened, so much has changed ever since my first post. I started this blog because a friend of mine has encouraged me to. She believed that I have a unique voice that should be heard. I am very grateful that I have listened to her and embarked on the bloggers’ journey. The day I decided to write my first post was probably one of the most boring days of my life. I was at work with nothing to do but to drink tea and try to engage in utterly boring conversations with some people that I didn’t really like. With time, this blog became my escape; not only from work, but also from society. I poured my anger, desperation and deep emotions in this blog. I wanted to shout out my opinion and let others know of what a young Qatari girl wonder about. It was fun, thrilling and enlightening. There has been ups and downs since I started this blog, I won’t deny that I was hurt from some haters, especially those who know my real identity and preferred to keep theirs hidden. But this was also part of the learning process.

 

I am writing this to tell you that I decided to stop blogging on MIMIZWORDS. simply because I don’t see myself as MIMI anymore. I have moved on in life and so have my interests. My passion for writing did not change, if anything it is growing every day and so I will continue writing. I might start another kind of blog, or not. But for now, this is goodbye. I might write one last post for old times sake.

 

I wish you all the best, and I would like to thank you for supporting me.

 

MIMI will always be there.

 

25 Comments

  1. UmmON said,

    Mimi should start writing for the magazine that wants her column back… you know that right?

  2. Mashael k said,

    its sad because i loved reading ur blog even though i stopped commenting because i enjoy reading more….wish u all the best Mariam..& plz when u have another blog or something inform me..=) Thank u & keep shining..

  3. Albiruni said,

    Very sad that u stopped blogging. All the best, it was a pleasure reading ur blogs.

  4. adey said,

    Oh! I only got here 6 months ago.

    take care

  5. Alberuni said,

    So sad that you have stopped blogging. It was great insight into Qatari mindset and culture. You have lot more posts left in you. Hope you will reconsider your decision.

  6. Tamimi said,

    While I feel somewhat sad to read this, I’ll always be gratefull for having the chance to read your blog. You are a wonderful person: I wish more of us Qataris cared about our country the way you do. May Allah bless you & aid you in whatever it is you choose to do next. Best wishes🙂

  7. mimizwords said,

    Thank you all very much, it means a lot wallah. I will come back in a different version. My blog will always be available for people to read from and comment on, I will not delete it or anything.

    UmmOn, writing for you was one of the most things I enjoyed, but you never followed up unfortunately. I wish you all the best, and you should seek out more Qatari writers because there are plenty believe me.

  8. Touché said,

    It was a joyful ride while it lasted, loved the posts and enjoyed the reading, wish it lasted much more, but since the end is near, all I can say is good luck on your future endeavors.

  9. Homme Du Qatar said,

    the world is round, and the place which may seems to you as the end, may as well be your new begninning. One’s feelings are always the purest and most glowing in a time like this, but I’d like you to know that no matter whether you blog or not, I will always be there for you, supporting you and giving you a hand whenever you may need it. my finaly words you are may the road rise up to meet you, may the wind be ever at your back., may the sun shine warm upon your face and the rain fall softly on your cheeks, and until we meet again, may God hold you safely in his hands.

    Au revoir la seule et unique… etc!

  10. farida said,

    It’s really sad to hear this , i hope we can find ur writing in other ways …

    good luck

  11. Jennifer Heeg said,

    Dear Mariam, Thank you very much for your thoughtful insights over the years. I have read with interest. If you’d ever like to meet in person, you are more than welcome to guest lecture in one of my classes at Texas A&M–I think our students (Qatari women especially) would be fascinated to hear your views on Qatar’s unique role in the world. May God bless you!

  12. Malkassir said,

    So sorry to see you go, Mimi! I’ve been following your blog for a year now and have really come to appreciate and look forward to the perspective you offer. As you know, I used excerpts from your blog in my writing, so your work will always mean something to me. Who knows, maybe one day we’ll cross paths again🙂

    Best of luck in everything you do!

    Thanks again for what you have contributed through this site!

    Malak

  13. Dinheiro Fácil said,

    Então agradável este blog está muito desenvolvido………Boa pinta:/
    Amei Continua deste modo !!

  14. ChickFlickJournal said,

    Why are you leaving? I just created an account on blogspot. How can I follow you?

    • mimizwords said,

      Hi there, well I am leaving for different reasons which don’t really matter now. I will keep the blog up for reference, so you can browse through old posts and comment. I am sorry if you feel disappointed dear.

  15. gingeri said,

    you’l sure BE missed :”)

  16. intlxpatr said,

    Sorry to see you go, Mimi. Your blog has been an eye-opener for those of us wanting to know more about Qatar. You gave us the great gift of allowing us to see a little from the inside. Many thanks, and best wishes for your next endeavors.🙂

  17. Albiruni said,

    Please come back….

  18. yuhsuan said,

    Mimi, it’s my first time leave message on your blog,
    I will miss you, you bring me know your world and open my view to middle east.
    wish to see more..

    a girl from Asia Taiwan

    • mimizwords said,

      Thanks a lot … sorry for my late replys but I still get surprised that eventhough it has been a year people still comment, thanks a lot

  19. Albiruni said,

    Still missed. Biggest miss of 2011

    • mimizwords said,

      Will come back stronger than ever! but not soon .. working on something new

  20. Khalid Shahbic  (@KHALiDiSH) said,

    i’m still checking your blog from time to time, to see if you might change your mind. I hope you have a good time, but will be eager to hear your voice again in written words.

    • mimizwords said,

      This means a lot to me!

  21. Sharky said,

    I loved your blog. As an ex-Indian expat in the Gulf and a woman, I can almost easily relate to most of the pieces written by you. Excellent workr. Looking forward to reading more

Leave a Reply

